Recapping the BBWAA dinner

Mariano Rivera was among the award recipients at Saturday's BBWAA dinner. AP Photo/Elaine Thompson

The annual baseball writers’ dinner hosted by the New York chapter is the largest of those held across the country, with all or most of the major award recipients in attendance. Colleague and friend Willie Weinbaum was there Saturday evening and filed this afterward:

"With the area's first Super Bowl eight days away and Yankee Stadium's first NHL game one day away, a cold and snowy Saturday night was for baseball.

"The 91st annual awards dinner of the New York chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America featured a poignant tribute to Boston Strong, a send-off of two retiring Yankees heroes and a stratospheric collection of legends on the dais -- led by Hank Aaron, Sandy Koufax and Mariano Rivera.

"Hall of Fame president Jeff Idelson made the first presentation, to the Hall's trio of new managerial inductees, Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa and Joe Torre. When Hall chairwoman Jane Forbes Clark called Torre last month to notify him of his selection, said Idelson, a flustered Torre dropped the phone and disconnected her.