Countdown to SEC kickoff: 29 days

If you’re consistently getting to double-digit wins in the SEC, that’s some pretty rarified air.

How rarified? Here’s a number to chew on as we continue to count down the days to the 2013 season: 11.

Only two schools in the SEC -- Alabama and South Carolina -- have won 11 or more games each of the last two seasons. In fact, nationally, only five FBS teams can make that claim. Boise State, Oregon and Stanford are the other three. The last school in the SEC to win 11 or more games in three straight seasons was LSU in 2005-07 -- Les Miles’ first three seasons as the Tigers’ coach. Miles has won 11 or more games in five of his eight seasons in Baton Rouge. Alabama hasn’t had three straight seasons of 11 or more wins since the Bear Bryant era. The Crimson Tide won 11 games in 1977 and in 1978 and then won 12 games in 1979. They captured the national championship in both 1978 and 1979. The Gamecocks had never won 11 games in a season until 2011, and had only won more than eight games in a season twice in school history prior to Steve Spurrier’s arrival in 2005. Mississippi State, Ole Miss and Vanderbilt are the only three schools in the SEC that have never won 11 or more games in a season.