Alabama snags No. 30 JC prospect

The nation's top-ranked class continues to separate from the competition. After securing a commitment from Laurence Jones (Monroe, La./Neville), the No. 22-ranked player in the ESPN 300 on Monday, Nick Saban and staff struck gold again Wednesday.

ESPN JC 50 defensive tackle Jarran Reed (Goldsboro, N.C./East Mississippi Community College) committed to the Crimson Tide following an unofficial visit to Tuscaloosa last week.

“I committed to Alabama,” Reed said via text message. “The relationship with the coaches, and the opportunity to join a great team. It’s a great way to become a better person and player.”

Reed, who ranks No. 30 in the recently released ESPN JC 50, made official visits to Kentucky on Oct. 11, Tennessee on Oct. 18, Ole Miss on Nov. 10 and Mississippi State on Nov. 15.

The 6-foot-4, 310-pound Reed has been a nationally recruited prospect for the better part of three years. He signed with Florida last year after his freshman season at East Mississippi Community College, but failed to meet entrance requirements. He returned to EMCC, and this season and has continued to be a force in the middle for the Lions, who will play for the NJCAA National Championship Dec. 8 in Biloxi, Miss. Reed is on schedule to graduate in December and plans to enroll at Alabama in January.

Reed is a teammate of former Alabama defensive end D.J. Pettway (Pensacola, Fla./East Mississippi Community College), who was dismissed after being charged with second-degree robbery. Pettway was on campus in Tuscaloosa with Reed last week, and could possibly return to the Crimson Tide.

Reed is Alabama's 24th commitment, including 18 ESPN 300 prospects. The class is headlined by No. 3-overall Cameron Robinson (Monroe, La./West Monroe) and No. 6 Da’Shawn Hand (Woodbridge, Va./Woodbridge), both five-star prospects.

Alabama remains in the running for No. 1-ranked Leonard Fournette (New Orleans/Saint Augustine), No. 9 Marlon Humphrey (Hoover, Ala./Hoover), No. 11 Tony Brown (Beaumont, Texas/Ozen), No. 12 Raekwon McMillan (Hinesville, Ga./Liberty County) and No. 13 Lorenzo Carter (Norcross, Ga./Norcross), among others.