Shelley makes award watch list

Never question the value of leaving a good impression. It's what University of Alabama kicker Jeremy Shelley did on Jan. 9 against LSU, nailing five field goals to beat the No. 1 team in the country and give the Crimson Tide its 14th national championship.

Today, that performance was rewarded as he was named to the Lou Groza Award watch list. The award is handed out annually to the nation's best kicker by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission. Texas A&M's Randy Bullock took home the honor last season.

Shelley is entering his junior year at Alabama. Last season, he connected on 21 of 27 kicks and accounted for 86 points in total -- enough to finish second on the team behind Heisman Trophy finalist Trent Richardson. Shelley finished the season tied for 11th in the country in field goals.

He and fellow kicker Cade Foster shared placekicking duties in 2011-12, with Foster coming out for mostly long-range attempts. The unit was much maligned heading into the national championship game against the Tigers, but Shelley's strong performance was enough to quell those criticisms. Had it not been for a late touchdown by Trent Richardson in the fourth quarter, Shelley would have accounted for all of the Crimson Tide's points en route to claiming the BCS title.

Here is the list in full, including six kickers from the SEC:

  • Drew Alleman, LSU

  • Brett Baer, Louisiana

  • Drew Basil, Ohio State

  • Tyler Bitancurt, West Virginia

  • Maikon Bonani, USF

  • Chris Boswell, Rice

  • Chandler Catanzaro, Clemson

  • Dan Conroy, Michigan State

  • Mitch Ewald, Indiana

  • Anthony Fera, Penn State

  • Andrew Furney, Washington State

  • Brendan Gibbons, Michigan

  • Jack Griffin, FIU

  • Andre Heidari, USC

  • Parker Herrington, Air Force

  • Zach Hocker, Arkansas

  • Dustin Hopkins, Florida State

  • Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma

  • Ty Long, UAB

  • Brett Maher, Nebraska

  • Craig McIntosh, Kentucky

  • Mike Meyer, Iowa

  • Jimmy Newman, Wake Forest

  • Cody Parkey, Auburn

  • Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State

  • Jeremy Shelley, Alabama

  • Caleb Sturgis, Florida

  • Matt Weller, Ohio

  • Jake Wieclaw, Miami

  • Jordan Williamson, Stanford