Wuerffel named to HOF ballott

GAINESVILLE, Fla. -- Former Florida quarterback Danny Wuerffel is one of 76 players and coaches named to the Football Bowl Subdivision ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Wuerffel, who won the 1996 Heisman Trophy and led the Gators to the national championship that season, held four NCAA, 12 Southeastern Conference, and 32 school records when he graduated.

Nine former UF players and coaches are already enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame: Dale Van Sickel, Steve Spurrier, Jack Youngblood, Emmitt Smith, Wilber Marshall, Carlos Alvarez, Charles Bachman, Doug Dickey and Ray Graves.