Three Gators named to All-SEC team

GAINESVILLE, Fla. -- Florida guards Kenny Boynton and Bradley Beal were named to the All-Southeastern Conference basketball first team Tuesday, while guard Erving Walker was a second-team selection and center Patric Young was named the league's Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Boynton leads UF in scoring (16.8 ppg) and 3-point shooting (43.4 percent). The 6-foot-1 junior has scored at least 20 points in a game 12 times this season. Beal, a 6-3 freshman, is second in scoring (14.4 ppg) and is tied for the team lead in rebounding (6.5 rpg). Joining those two on the first team are Kentucky's Anthony Davis and Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Mississippi State's Dee Bost and Arnett Moultrie, and Vanderbilt's John Jenkins and Jeffery Taylor.

Walker, who is UF's all-time assists leader (524) and is fourth on the school's all-time scoring list (1,715), averages 12.4 points and 4.7 assists per game. He is joined on the second team by Alabama's JaMychal Green and Trevor Releford, Arkansas' B.J. Young, Kentucky's Terrence Jones and Doron Lamb, LSU's Justin Hamilton, Ole Miss' Terrance Henry, and Tennessee's Jeronne Maymon.

Young, a sophomore who averages 10.5 points and is tied for the team lead with 6.5 rebounds per game, has a 3.7 GPA in telecommunications. He is the third UF player to be named Scholar Athlete of the Year, joining Lee Humphrey (2006 and 2007) and Ray Shipman (2010).

Kentucky's John Calipari was named the league's Coach of the Year. Davis was the Freshman of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and the overall Player of the Year. Kentucky's Darius Miller was the Sixth Man of the Year.