Gators nearly shut out on All-SEC

GAINESVILLE, Fla. -- Florida didn't get shut out on the Associated Press' All-Southeastern Conference team that was released Monday afternoon, but the Gators came pretty close -- and could be headed to their worst showing in more than 60 years.

UF had just one representative on the first or second teams: kicker Caleb Sturgis, who was a first-team selection. If the same holds true when the coaches' team is released on Tuesday, it'll be the first time since 1948 the Gators haven't had at least two players honored as either first- or second-team selections by either the AP or the league's coaches. Chuck Hunsinger was the only UF player honored in '48. He was a first-team selection.

Sturgis leads the SEC with 21 field goals, and three of his four misses were from 49 yards or longer. Only one of his 53 kickoffs went out of bounds, and nine were touchbacks.

UF defensive tackle Jaye Howard earned honorable-mention honors, which means he was on at least one ballot.

For comparison, LSU had 11 players named to the first and second teams, including the league's Defensive Player of the Year Tyrann Mathieu. Alabama had eight players honored, including Offensive Player of the Year Trent Richardson.