Gator coaches, players give out awards

GAINESVILLE, Fla. -- The Florida football team had its annual banquet last weekend and numerous awards were handed out. Some were chosen by the coaches and some by the players. Here's a recap of the winners from the school's website:


President’s Academic Award: Caleb Sturgis

Gene Elleson Community Service Award: Jesse Schmitt

Iron Gator Strength and Conditioning Award: William Green

Chris Patrick Courage Award: John Brantley

Most Valuable Offensive Scout Team Award: Tim Clark

Most Valuable Defensive Scout Team Award: Mike McNeely

Most Valuable Special Team Scout Team Award: Hygens Succes and Solomon Schoonover


Rex Farrior Most Team Spirited Offense: Jeff Demps

Rex Farrior Most Team Spirited Defense: Dominique Easley

Greg See Tenacity Award Offense: Matt Patchan

Greg See Tenacity Award Defense: Dominique Easley

Most Valuable Special Teams Player: Caleb Sturgis

Most Valuable Offensive Player: Chris Rainey

Most Valuable Defensive Player: Jon Bostic and Matt Elam

James W. Kynes Award (Best Mental/Physical Toughness): John Brantley

Ray Graves Award (Team MVP): Chris Rainey

Fergie Ferguson Leadership Award: Lerentee McCray and John Brantley

Team Captains (5): John Brantley, Chris Rainey, Jeff Demps, William Green and Jaye Howard