Names not called in the UGA all-time draft

ATHENS, Ga. -- Throughout the week, we’ve dissected our DawgNation all-time UGA draft. Now let’s take a look at some of the best players who did not make one of the three teams -- and maybe should have:

John Rauch: Rauch is a College Football Hall of Famer, but didn’t make one of the three teams. He posted a 36-8-1 record as Georgia’s starting quarterback between 1945-48 and was the NCAA career passing leader (4,044 yards) when he completed his time at UGA. He later became a successful NFL coach with the Oakland Raiders.

Bill Hartman: The second Hall of Famer who was left off is considered one of the greatest UGA loyalists of all time, following a standout career with decades of service to Georgia as an assistant coach. Hartman was an All-America fullback in 1937 and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1984.

Eric Zeier: I had Zeier high on my list, but decided to go with Fran Tarkenton when it came time to pick a quarterback. Nonetheless, Zeier was a phenomenal college player and ranks second in SEC history in passing yardage (11,395 yards) behind only fellow Bulldog David Greene (11,528) -- a record that Georgia quarterback Aaron Murray (10,091) is poised to break this season.

Backfield options: There are a number of running backs that we easily could have included who typically had one superb season as a Bulldog. Let’s just mention them all: Willie McClendon (1,312 yards and 13 TDs in 1978), Tim Worley (1,216 yards and 14 TDs in 1988), Lars Tate (954 yards and 16 TDs in 1986 and 1,016 yards and 14 scores in 1987), Terrell Davis (824 yards and five TDs in 1993), Robert Edwards (1,708 yards and 21 TDs between 1996-97), Rodney Hampton (1,059 yards and 12 TDs in 1989) and Andy Johnson (870 yards and 13 TDs as a college quarterback before playing running back in the NFL).

Nat Hudson: There are a number of offensive linemen who have a case for inclusion, but let’s go with Hudson, who won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy -- which goes to the SEC’s top blocker -- and was an All-SEC pick while opening holes for Herschel Walker on Georgia’s 1980 national championship team.