The SEC's 25 best players: No. 10

Aaron Murray's senior season didn't end like he envisioned -- neither with the five losses, nor the season-ending knee injury he suffered late in the fall -- but Murray still finished his time at Georgia as one of the most distinguished passers in SEC history.

No. 10: Aaron Murray, QB, Georgia

2013 summary: Although he missed the past two-and-a-half games because of a torn ACL suffered against Kentucky, Murray still broke a number of SEC career records: passing yards (13,166), touchdown passes (121), total offense (13,562) and completions (921). And by passing for 3,075 yards in 2013, he became the first SEC quarterback to pass for more than 3,000 yards in all four seasons.

Most recent ranking: Ranked No. 5 in the 2013 preseason countdown

Making the case for Murray: Murray wasn't going to win the Heisman Trophy while playing for a team that had already lost four times when he injured his knee. But he deserved more attention than he was getting just for keeping afloat an offense that lost several key pieces for the season and valuable tailback Todd Gurley for a chunk of the season. Murray led clutch, game-winning (or tying) drives against South Carolina, LSU and Tennessee, beat Florida for a third time and delivered a heroic 415-yard effort against Auburn only to see it go for naught when the Tigers completed a fourth-down touchdown bomb on their final possession. The record doesn't show it, but Murray should be enormously proud of what he gave his team as a senior.

The rundown:

No. 11: Greg Robinson, OT, Auburn, So.

No. 12: Jeremy Hill, RB, LSU, So.

No. 13: Dee Ford, DE, Auburn, Sr.

No. 14: Todd Gurley, RB, Georgia, So.

No. 15: Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Carolina, Jr.

No. 16: Odell Beckham, Jr., WR, LSU, Jr.

No. 17: Kony Ealy, DE, Missouri, Jr.

No. 18: T.J. Yeldon, RB, Alabama, So.

No. 19: Jarvis Landry, WR, LSU, Jr.

No. 20: Cody Prewitt, S, Ole Miss, Jr.

No. 21: Nick Marshall, QB, Auburn, Jr.

No. 22: Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, S, Alabama, Jr.

No. 23: Gabe Jackson, OG, Mississippi State, Sr.

No. 24: Kenny Ladler, S, Vanderbilt, Sr.

No. 25: E.J. Gaines, CB, Missouri, Jr.