Jones, Boykin headline team honors

Georgia handed out its annual team awards at Saturday night's gala.

Center Ben Jones was named the overall permanent team captain and won the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player of the Year Award, a Coaches Leadership Awards and the Leon Farmer Award for dedication to the team's strength and conditioning program. Fellow senior Brandon Boykin also brought home an award haul, being named a team defensive captain and joining Jones as a winner of a Coaches Leadership Award and the Leon Farmer Award.

Here is a full list of the winners:

Overall Permanent Team Captain: Center Ben Jones

Team Offensive Captains: Tight end Orson Charles, offensive lineman Cordy Glenn

Team Defensive Captains: Cornerback Brandon Boykin, linebacker Jarvis Jones

Special Teams Captain: Punter Drew Butler

Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player of the Year: Center Ben Jones

Most Valuable Offensive Player: Quarterback Aaron Murray

Most Valuable Defensive Player: Linebacker Jarvis Jones

Most Valuable Special Teams Players: Linebacker Kosta Vavlas and punter Drew Butler

David Jacobs Award (Players who, by example, portray courage, spirit, character and determination): Offensive lineman Chris Burnette and linebacker Alec Ogletree

Leon Farmer Award (Dedication to strength and conditioning program): Cornerback Brandon Boykin, center Ben Jones

Coaches Leadership Awards: Tight end Orson Charles, quarterback Aaron Murray, center Ben Jones (offense), cornerback Brandon Boykin, defensive end DeAngelo Tyson (defense), punter Drew Butler (special teams)

Most Improved Player Awards: Offensive lineman Justin Anderson, offensive lineman Cordy Glenn (offense), defensive end Abry Jones, linebacker Mike Gilliard (defense), safety Connor Norman (special teams)

Newcomer of the Year Award: Receiver Michael Bennett, receiver Chris Conley, receiver Malcolm Mitchell (offense), linebacker Amarlo Herrera, nose guard John Jenkins (defense), defensive back Quintavius Harrow (special teams)

Outstanding Scout Team Award: Quarterback Greg Bingham (offense), linebacker Corey Campbell, cornerback Eric Elliot (defense), cornerback Luis Capella (special teams)