LSU to host regional

It's no surprise. On Sunday, LSU was one of the 16 schools awarded a host site for an NCAA baseball regional next weekend.

LSU (43-16) won the SEC before going 1-2 in the SEC tournament over the weekend at Hoover, Ala. The Tigers will host a regional for the first time since 2009, which is also the last year LSU won a College World Series.

LSU is one of three SEC programs to host a regional along with Florida and South Carolina. Kentucky, which finished just a game behind LSU in the SEC standings, was not awarded regional.

Also getting to host a regional is future SEC member Texas A&M.

Other host schools are: North Carolina, Virginia, Miami (Fla.), Oregon, Purdue (at Gary, Ind.), Rice, UCLA, Stanford, North Carolina State, Florida State, Arizona and Baylor.

The 64-team tournament field, including which the eight national seeds, will be released at noon (EDT) Monday. LSU is widely expected to receive one of the national seeds.