Michigan names four captains for 2013-14

On the eve of the Michigan football team’s first game week of the 2013-14 season, the team voted on captains. And for just the third time in Michigan’s 134-year football history, four players were named as captains.

Senior offensive tackle Taylor Lewan, senior linebacker Cam Gordon, senior defensive back Courtney Avery and redshirt junior linebacker Jake Ryan were voted as team captains, according to a school press release.

“I think all of our seniors have done a great job of leading since we started the season in January, and the team did a great job of voting four guys who are extremely deserving of being named captains of Team 134,” coach Brady Hoke said in a press release. “They all are great examples of team leaders.”