U-M lands handful on All-Big Ten teams

Two Michigan football players were honored by the Big Ten on Monday.

Left tackle Taylor Lewan was named the conference’s lineman of the year, being awarded the Rimington-Pace Award. This is the third season in a row this honor has gone to a Wolverine. Lewan won this award last season and former center David Molk won it in 2011.

Tight end Devin Funchess was honored as the Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year. Funchess ended the regular season with six touchdowns and 747 yards on 47 catches. The Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year didn’t begin until 2011 and so Funchess is the first Wolverine to be honored as such.

Lewan was the only Wolverine to be unanimously selected to the First Team All-Big Ten by coaches and the media. Funchess and defensive back Blake Countess were both named first team by the media.

Wide receiver Jeremy Gallon was named to the Second Team All-Big Ten by both the coaches and media. Funchess was a second team selection by the Big Ten coaches, as were Countess and defensive lineman Frank Clark.

Several Wolverines were named honorable mention All-Big Ten including Clark (media), defensive lineman Jibreel Black (media and coaches), offensive tackle Mike Schofield (coaches), quarterback Devin Gardner (media), kicker Brendan Gibbons (media) and defensive back Raymon Taylor (media).

Defensive back Courtney Avery was the Michigan winner for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

For a list of all the Big Ten honorees, click here.