Hoke a finalist for another COY award

Michigan coach Brady Hoke, the Big Ten's coach of the year, is a finalist for a third national coach of the year award.

Already a finalist for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year and the Eddie Robinson Award, he'll now be a finalist for the Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year Award as well.

He's one of 10 finalists for this award, joining the other usual candidates in Wisconsin's Bret Bielema, Baylor's Art Briles, Oklahoma State's Mike Gundy, LSU's Les Miles, Alabama's Nick Saban, Stanford's David Shaw, Kansas State's Bill Snyder, Clemson's Dabo Swinney and Kevin Sumlin, who coached Houston this season and recently left the Cougars for the head coaching gig at Texas A&M.

The award, which is given out by the Marathon Oil Corporation, will be announced on Jan. 19 in Houston.