McGloin, Kovacs finalists for walk-on trophy

Two of the top three former walk-ons in the country play in the Big Ten, according to the Burlsworth Trophy.

The award, which goes to the most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on, named its three finalists on Tuesday. Two of them are Penn State quarterback Matthew McGloin and Michigan safety Jordan Kovacs. The other is San Jose State offensive tackle David Quessenberry.

Kovacs is a four-year starter who has been one of the Wolverines' best defensive players throughout his career. As a junior he was named to the pre-season Lott IMPACT Trophy watch list and finished the season as the team’s second leading tackler with 75 stops. In 2012, he has started every game, registered his 300th career tackle, and is considered one of the top safeties in the nation.

McGloin broke most of Penn State's passing records this season and led the Big Ten in both passing yards and touchdowns. He developed into a top-flight quarterback as a senior.

Both guys are very deserving of winning this award, which will revealed Dec. 3 at a banquet in Springdale, Ark. Fans can vote for the winner at this link, and their say will make up five percent of the balloting.