Hoops trio receives academic honor

The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) honored three Michigan basketball players on Tuesday when graduate Zack Novak and rising seniors Matt Vogrich and Josh Bartelstein were named to the 2011-12 Honors Court.

The three players comprised half of the members honored in the entire Big Ten. Novak, Vogrich and Bartelstein also honored as U-M Athletic Academic Achievement recipients and were named to the Academic All-Big Ten list.

According to a University of Michigan news release the requirements are that, “a student-athlete must be a member of an NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA institution with junior and senior eligibility. The student-athlete must have matriculated for at least one year and have a GPA of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2011-12 academic year.”