The Big 12 BCS-era 16-team playoff

The BCS era is over. Next up, the College Football Playoff era.

But before we completely turn the page on the BCS here on the Big 12 blog, we’re going to have some fun -- with a playoff.

Through the month of June, we’re going to decide who the best Big 12 team of the BCS era really was.

Actually, you are going to decide.

Here’s how this will work. On Thursday morning, we’ll unveil the 16-team bracket, which will be seeded 1 through 16. Then beginning next Monday, you will vote each day to determine which team advances to the next round.

But first things first. We’d like your nominations of teams that should be included in the field of 16, with the following caveats:

  • The teams have to be from the BCS era (1998-2013).

  • Teams from programs (Nebraska, Colorado, Missouri, Texas A&M) that have since departed the Big 12 are eligible for inclusion. However, any team from those programs that came after departure from the Big 12 is not eligible. (And don’t worry, we don’t think any Texas A&M team will make the cut anyway.)

  • Lastly, in the spirit of Big 12 unity, we’re making all TCU and West Virginia teams from the BCS era (1998-2013) eligible for this tournament.

Send us your Big 12 BCS-era team nominations here.

And check back Thursday morning for the bracket unveiling.