Buckeyes name five captains

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- A group of seniors with no postseason waiting for them has embraced the opportunity to come back to Ohio State and build a bridge into the future.

After a team vote, five of those Buckeyes will officially do so as captains.

The program named its designated leaders in a meeting and released them publicly Sunday night, with John Simon again earning the honor and being joined by fellow seniors Jordan Hall, Etienne Sabino, Zach Boren and Garrett Goebel.

"Announcing who are team captains is one of the great honors I get to do as head coach,” Ohio State coach Urban Meyer said in a release. “We had a number of guys get votes. This is a really good group of seniors who I am very proud to have leading this team.”

Simon has already served in that official capacity before, and the defensive lineman will be just the seventh two-time captain in school history and the first since James Laurinaitis finished his career in 2008.

The new captains are expected to be available for interviews after practice on Monday, but each provided brief thoughts to an Ohio State spokesman after the votes were counted on Sunday.

  • Fullback Zach Boren: “It is a dream come true and a huge honor to be named a captain at The Ohio State University. I am appreciative and thankful, and I look forward to being a leader on this team this season.”

  • Defensive lineman Garrett Goebel: “I’m excited. It is an honor that your teammates think that highly of you to name you a captain. I’m going to put everything I have into this responsibility.”

  • Running back Jordan Hall: “This is a dream come true. I was hoping to be named a captain but I was also a little surprised when it happened. I can’t thank my teammates enough for selecting me for this honor.”

  • Linebacker Etienne Sabino: “I’m really excited. This is such an honor to get voted by your teammates to be their captain. I am just really honored to be named a captain.”

  • Defensive end John Simon: “Being named captain means a lot. I appreciate the votes of the players. This is one of the biggest honors a player can receive and I’ll be proud to lead this team along with four other great guys. We’ll have a really good season if we all lead well.”