PSU's Conlan, Purdue's Butz get Hall call

The 2014 class of inductees into the College Football Hall of Fame has been announced, and it includes two former stars from Big Ten schools.

Penn State linebacker Shane Conlan and Purdue defensive tackle Dave Butz were voted in among the 13 new inductees. Here are their bios from the Hall of Fame:

  • Butz: 1972 consensus first team All-American. Finalist for the Lombardi Award in 1972 and named first team all-conference. Named Defensive MVP of the Senior Bowl.

  • Conlan: 1986 consensus first team All-American and Butkus Award finalist. Led Nittany Lions to back-to-back national title appearances, winning championship in 1986. Led team in tackles twice and finished career ranked second in career tackles (274) at PSU.

There were 21 former players from Big Ten schools on the Hall of Fame ballot this year, along with coaches Darryl Rogers (Michigan State) and Jim Tressel (Ohio State). Some big names who failed to make the cut this year included Nebraska's Trev Alberts and Eric Crouch, Michigan's Jumbo Elliott and Mark Messner, Illinois' Simeon Rice and Michigan State's Lorenzo White. They'll have to wait for their chance next year.

Conlan made it in his first year on the ballot, understandably so, as he epitomized Penn State's "Linebacker U" tradition. Butz joins former Purdue teammate Otis Armstrong in the Hall of Fame. Armstrong was voted into the Hall in 2012.

Congrats to the newest Hall of Famers.