Big day for PSU on the awards circuit

Two of Penn State's offensive seniors and head coach Bill O'Brien received national honors Monday.

O'Brien became one of nine finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, and center Matt Stankiewitch was named one of six finalists for the Rimington Trophy. Quarterback Matt McGloin moved past the finalist lists and was handed the 40-pound Burlsworth Trophy during a ceremony Monday, given to the nation's best player who started his career as a walk-on.

O'Brien, unanimously named Big Ten Coach of the Year by the coaches and media, joins Ohio State coach Urban Meyer as finalists from the Big Ten. The other coaching finalists include Utah State's Gary Andersen, N.C. State's Dave Doeren (who coached NIU this season), Notre Dame's Brian Kelly, Florida's Will Muschamp, Stanford's David Shaw, Kansas State's Bill Snyder and Texas A&M's Kevin Sumlin.

The winner will be announced Dec. 13.

Stankiewitch is the lone center representing the Big Ten. He's joined by fellow finalists Mario Benavides (Louisville), Braxston Cave (Notre Dame), Dalton Freeman (Clemson), Khaled Holmes (USC) and Barrett Jones (Alabama).

The winner will be announced Thursday on ESPNU. The last Penn State player to win the award was A.Q. Shipley in 2008.

"It's a great honor to be a finalist for the Rimington Trophy," Stankiewitch said.

McGloin, dressed in a suit and green tie, accepted the large Burlsworth Trophy -- 15 pounds heavier than the Heisman -- by beating out San Jose State offensive tackle David Quessenberry and Michigan safety Jordan Kovacs.