Sumlin, Manziel, earn SEC honors

Texas A&M head coach Kevin Sumlin and redshirt freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel earned top honors in their respective categories for the Associated Press' Southeastern Conference postseason awards.

Sumlin was named the SEC Coach of the Year for guiding the Aggies to a 10-2 season and a tie for second place in the SEC West. It is Sumlin's first year at Texas A&M after spending four years at Houston, where he was 35-17. Manziel, a Heisman Trophy candidate, earned SEC Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors after compiling an SEC single-season record 4,600 total yards and being responsible for 43 touchdowns.

Manziel was one of four Aggies to earn first-team All-SEC honors. Offensive tackles Luke Joeckel and Jake Matthews and defensive end Damontre Moore also joined Manziel on the first team. Joeckel and Matthews started all 12 games and helped pave the way for the Aggies' high-powered offense, which ranked third in the country in total offense (552.3 yards per game) and third in scoring (44.7 points per game). Moore led the Aggies with 89 tackles, tied for third nationally in sacks (12.5) and tied for fifth in tackles for loss (20) while also starting all 12 games.