Ash the lone Big 12 QB on Manning list

Interesting strategy from the Manning Award, which released its 30-man watch list for the annual trophy in accordance with each quarterback's Total Quarterback Rating (QBR), though the winner will still be selected by voters later this season.

Texas' David Ash was the only Big 12 quarterback on the watch list.

All quarterbacks are still eligible to win, but here's a little more on the QBR from the Manning Award release.

Total QBR measures a quarterback's contributions to scoring on each play (passing, rushing, sacks, fumbles, and penalties) accounting for game context (down, distance, yard line, time remaining, and score) and adjusted for opponent strength. It is based on a 0-100 scale and 50 is average.

"Total QBR uses all of a quarterback's plays and accounts for the context of the game and quality of the defenses faced," said ESPN Stats & Information Sr. Director Jeff Bennett. "We are excited to bring a more complete rating system to the fans to allow for fairer comparisons of quarterbacks who play in different types of systems and face various levels of competition. We're pleased that a national award like the Manning Award has seen the value of our new Total QBR for college."

Cool stuff if you didn't pay attention to the QBR when it debuted about two years ago in an ESPN special during our "Year of the Quarterback."

Texas is the only school with two Manning Awards since the trophy debuted in 2004. Vince Young (2005) and Colt McCoy (2009) won the trophy. Baylor's Robert Griffin III won in 2011 and Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel is the current reigning winner.