Preseason All-Big 12, awards unveiled

The Big 12 released its preseason All-Big 12 team and preseason awards on Wednesday. Here they are, including all of the first-teamers.

I'll reveal my personal ballot later this month, and have a few thoughts on the guys who did make it when I return from vacation on Monday.

Trust me, I have a lot. (Biggest snub of anyone: Texas cornerback Carrington Byndom. Complete travesty.) Plenty more where that came from. Come back next week.

Offensive Player of the Year: Geno Smith, QB, West Virginia

Defensive Player of the Year: Alex Okafor, DE, Texas

Newcomer of the Year: Trey Metoyer, WR, Oklahoma


QB: Geno Smith, WVU

RB: Malcom Brown, Texas

RB: Joseph Randle, Oklahoma State

WR: Tavon Austin, WVU

WR: Kenny Stills, Oklahoma

TE: Jordan Najvar, Baylor

C: Ben Habern, Oklahoma

OL: Lane Taylor, Oklahoma State

OL: Cyril Richardson, Baylor

OL: Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma

OL: LaAdrian Waddle, Texas Tech


DL: Alex Okafor, Texas

DL: Stansly Maponga, TCU

DL: Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas

DL: Jamarkus McFarland, Oklahoma

LB: Jake Knott, Iowa State

LB: Arthur Brown, Kansas State

LB: A.J. Klein, Iowa State

DB: Nigel Malone, Kansas State

DB: Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State

DB: Kenny Vaccaro, Texas

DB: Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma


P: Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State

PK: Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State

PR: Tavon Austin, West Virginia

KR: Tyler Lockett, Kansas State