Wednesday Roundup: Fame time, next year

Three players were elected to baseball's Hall of Fame on Wednesday, as Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas all made it to Cooperstown in their first year on the ballot. Jack Morris, in his 15th and final season of eligibility, fell short of the required 75 percent for election and will not be on the ballot in 2014.

Even with those four names off the ballot for next year, we should expect to see a similar logjam of viable candidates when voting comes around again in 2015. There will be 29 newcomers to the debate, including Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez and John Smoltz, along with carryovers like Craig Biggio, who fell two votes short of election this time around, Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines, Mike Piazza, Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds, Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa.

You can see which players had votes cast for them on the 17 ballots belonging to ESPN writers here. As for the rest of the major buzz around the league this Wednesday, here are a few of the top stories: