The Golden Eagles lock up a bid

Editor's note: This is updated to include games through 5 p.m. ET on Wednesday, March 10.

My Current No. 1 Seeds

Midwest: Kansas Jayhawks

South: Syracuse Orange

East: Kentucky Wildcats

West: Duke Blue Devils

With the No. 1 seeds still idle, the changes come on the bottom of the bubble, where South Florida's NCAA tournament dream died at the hands of the Hoyas. Seton Hall is now the Big East's only hope for nine bids.

Moving in the other direction, Marquette has moved into the field as a lock after beating St. John's.

Current Automatic Qualifiers (12)

  • Cornell Big Red (Ivy League)

  • Winthrop Eagles (Big South)

  • East Tennessee State Buccaneers (Atlantic Sun)

  • Murray State Racers (Ohio Valley)

  • Northern Iowa Panthers (Missouri Valley)

  • Old Dominion Monarchs (Colonial)

  • Siena Saints (MAAC)

  • Saint Mary's Gaels (West Coast)

  • Wofford Terriers (Southern)

  • North Texas Mean Green (Sun Belt)

  • Oakland Golden Grizzlies (Summit)

  • Butler Bulldogs (Horizon)

    Current "Locks" (34 teams)

  • Big 12 (7): Kansas Jayhawks, Kansas State Wildcats, Baylor Bears, Texas A&M Aggies, Texas Longhorns, Missouri Tigers, Oklahoma State Cowboys

  • Big East (7): Syracuse Orange, Villanova Wildcats, West Virginia Mountaineers, Pittsburgh Panthers, Georgetown Hoyas, Louisville Cardinals, Marquette Golden Eagles

  • ACC (5): Duke Blue Devils, Maryland Terrapins, Clemson Tigers, Florida State Seminoles, Wake Forest Demon Deacons

  • Big Ten (4): Purdue Boilermakers, Ohio State Buckeyes, Wisconsin Badgers, Michigan State Spartans

  • Atlantic 10 (3): Temple Owls, Xavier Musketeers, Richmond Spiders

  • SEC (3): Kentucky Wildcats, Vanderbilt Commodores, Tennessee Volunteers

  • Mountain West (3): New Mexico Lobos, Brigham Young Cougars, UNLV Rebels

  • Pac-10 (1): California Golden Bears

  • West Coast (1): Gonzaga Bulldogs

    Additional automatic qualifiers: 11 conferences


    The Bubble (16 teams for eight spots)

  • Currently In (9, listed in S-Curve order): Virginia Tech Hokies, Notre Dame Fighting Irish, Florida Gators, Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets, Memphis Tigers, Arizona State Sun Devils, San Diego State Aztecs, Illinois Fighting Illini

  • Currently Out (8, listed in S-Curve order): Washington Huskies, Seton Hall Pirates, Ole Miss Rebels, Rhode Island Rams, Dayton Flyers, UAB Blazers, Mississippi State Bulldogs, Minnesota Golden Gophers

  • Off The Board: Wichita State Shockers, Cincinnati Bearcats, Connecticut Huskies, South Florida Bulls

  • Last Four In: Memphis, Arizona State, San Diego State, Illinois

  • First Four Out: Washington, Seton Hall, Ole Miss, Rhode Island

    Regular-Season Champions (NIT automatic bids if needed)

  • UTEP Miners (Conference USA)

  • Utah State Aggies (WAC)

  • Kent State Golden Flashes (Mid-American)

  • Weber State Wildcats (Big Sky)

  • Oakland Golden Grizzlies (Summit League)

  • Sam Houston State Bearkats (Southland)

  • Morgan State Bears (MEAC)

  • Troy Trojans (Sun Belt)

  • UC Santa Barbara Gauchos (Big West)

  • Quinnipiac Bobcats (Northeast)

  • Lehigh Mountain Hawks (Patriot League)

  • Jackson State Tigers (SWAC)

  • Stony Brook Seawolves (America East)*

  • Jacksonville Dolphins (Atlantic Sun)*

  • Coastal Carolina Chanticleers (Big South)*

  • Troy Trojans (Sun Belt)*

    *Lost in conference tournament. Will receive automatic bid to NIT.

    Joe Lunardi is the resident Bracketologist for ESPN, ESPN.com and ESPN Radio. He also teaches Fundamentals of Bracketology online at Saint Joseph's University. Comments can be sent to bracketology@comcast.net.