UA Game jersey tour: Deshaun Watson

GAINESVILLE, Ga. – Senior quarterback Deshaun Watson (Gainesville, Ga./Gainesville) was presented his honorary game jersey for the 2014 Under Armour All-America High School Football Game at his high school on Friday during the American Family Insurance Selection Tour.

Watson, a Clemson commitment, is one of 90 players selected to compete in the seventh-annual UA Game presented by American Family Insurance. The 2014 game is set for 4 p.m. ET Jan. 2 at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla., and will be televised on ESPN.

“I want to thank Under Armour and American Family Insurance for selecting me, and everyone else that has supported me and my family,” Watson said.

Gainesville High coach Bruce Miller says the Watson was an excellent choice.

“First of all, this couldn’t go to a more deserving person,” Miller said. “I tell people all the time he’s never played a JV down in football. I remember going to him when he was 14 years old as a freshman and saying I’m going to start you tonight, and by the way I’m going to start you against Buford. He went in and threw three touchdown passes, and as I like to say … the rest is history. Thank you, Deshaun, for everything you have done for us.”

The record-setting quarterback from the Peach State is eager to test himself against the rest of the top players in the nation.

"It’s just something I always dreamed about when I was little. I always thinking about playing in an All-American game, and the Under Armour All-America Game was the one game I always wanted to play in, so once I got the opportunity and invite I chose it,” Watson said. “Just being around all of the great players and learning new things … playing with the best and seeing all the best players from around the country. Being able to play with the best players in the country, interact with them, and have fun will be great."

The 6-foot-3, 190-pound Watson is the No. 14 overall prospect and the No. 1 dual-threat quarterback in the class. He committed to Clemson over Auburn, Ohio State, Florida State and a number of others.