Trout wins WAR, Cabrera wins battle

Miguel Cabrera

CabreraMiguel Cabrera, the first Triple Crown winner since Carl Yastrzemski in 1967, is the first Tigers position player to win the MVP since Hank Greenberg in 1940.

Cabrera won the award over Mike Trout, who contributed 10.7 Wins Above Replacement (WAR) in 2012. There have been eight previous individual 10-WAR seasons in the Divisional Era (since 1969). Alex Rodriguez losing to Jason Giambi in 2000 is the only other time a 10-WAR season did not win the MVP when it was the league leader in WAR.

Miguel Cabrera vs Mike Trout
2012 Season

Cabrera is the first MVP from either league to capture the award in the same year in which he made the last out of the World Series, according to the Elias Sports Bureau.

Cabrera (2012) and Justin Verlander (2011) are the first teammates to win consecutive AL MVP honors since Ivan Rodriguez (1999) and Juan Gonzalez (1998) for the Texas Rangers. Jimmy Rollins (2007) and Ryan Howard (2006) of the Phillies were the most recent teammates to accomplish this in the National League.

Cabrera is the first player born in Venezuela to win an MVP award. Born in Venezuela, Cabrera was the first Hispanic player ever to win the Triple Crown and also the first Triple Crown winner ever to be born outside of the United States.


Buster Posey

PoseyWith Buster Posey and Cabrera both winning the MVP award in their respective leagues and leading their teams to the Fall Classic, it marks the first time since 1988 that MVP winners faced each other in the World Series. In 1988, NL MVP Kirk Gibson led the Dodgers over AL MVP Jose Canseco and the Oakland Athletics.

Posey led NL position players in WAR this season (7.2).

Posey, at 25 years old, is the youngest NL MVP winner since Ryne Sandberg in 1984.

He’s the first catcher to win the award since Johnny Bench for the Cincinnati Reds in 1972.