Team preview: Arizona State

Editor's Note: ESPN Insider has teamed with Blue Ribbon College Football Yearbook to provide a comprehensive look at all 119 Division I-A teams. To order the complete 2007 edition of Blue Ribbon College Football Yearbook, visit www.blueribbonyearbook.com or call 1-866-805-BALL (2255).

(All information as of June 20, 2007)


A year ago in this space, we wrote:

It's post time for the Sun Devils. Another middle-of-the-pack finish isn't likely to be taken lightly in Tempe.

Alas for Dirk Koetter and the majority of his staff, another middle-of-the-pack most certainly wasn't taken lightly by Arizona State Vice President of Athletics Lisa Love. Before the season ended, Koetter was informed he wouldn't return in 2007. He was, however, allowed to finish the season.

And on Dec. 11, more than two weeks before ASU lost to Hawaii in the Hawaii Bowl, a familiar name was tabbed the 22nd head coach in program history.

Make no mistake, either, Dennis Erickson, who coached Miami to a pair of national titles in 1989 and '91, wasn't brought aboard for a rebuilding effort. Immediate results are ex-pected by one and all -- alumni, administration, fans, and most of all, Erickson himself. This isn't Idaho, where Erickson coached last season after a year off and before that a two-year stint as head coach of the San Francisco 49ers.