Team preview: Vanderbilt

Editor's Note: ESPN Insider has teamed with Blue Ribbon College Football Yearbook to provide a comprehensive look at all 119 Division I-A teams. To order the complete 2007 edition of Blue Ribbon College Football Yearbook, visit www.blueribbonyearbook.com or call 1-866-805-BALL (2255).

(All information as of June 20, 2007)


Bobby Johnson is to frills what the Sahara is to water -- a distant stranger.

So, this whole notion of Johnson owning the fifth-longest contiguous tenure among coaches in the SEC sneaks up on people like camouflaged air.

"You mean Vanderbilt's coach? Do they even have a coach? I heard something about their athletic department disappearing a few years ago ..."

Oh, but it's true. Tennessee's Phillip Fulmer (15 years) remains the dean of a conference that boasts four national championship winners -- Fulmer, Steve Spurrier, Nick Saban and Urban Meyer -- among its head-coaching ranks. Houston Nutt's nine tenuous years at Arkansas is next, followed by Tommy Tuberville's eight seasons at Auburn and six years of Dawg days for Mark Richt at Georgia.