Soccer-Chaotic South Africa draft Mokoena for Nations Cup

JOHANNESBURG, Jan 14 - South Africa drafted
midfielder Teboho Mokoena into their final African Nations Cup
squad on Wednesday, replacing injured Ajax Amsterdam player
Steven Pienaar amid continuing chaos surrounding preparations.

The South African Football Association (SAFA), embroiled in
a legal battle with suspended coach Ephraim "Shakes" Mashaba,
finalised its 22-man squad ahead of the midnight deadline set by
the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

But it was still unclear whether Mashaba would return from
suspension to coach the team in the African Nations Cup
tournament, which opens in Tunisia on January 24, or if SAFA
would try to replace him.

Mashaba is due to return to court on Thursday to appeal
against a week-long suspension SAFA handed down on January 7 for
breach of contract.

Sports Minister Ngconde Balfour summoned both parties to a
meeting in Pretoria on Tuesday, but a spokesman said he could
not comment on what had been said as discussions were ongoing.

South Africa are drawn in Group D at the Nations Cup along
with Nigeria, Morocco and Benin.

Mokoena, who scored in South Africa's 2-2 draw against
Paraguay in the 2002 World Cup finals, was one of only three
changes to the squad Mashaba announced in December.

Nkisinathi Nhleko, who plays for Dallas Burn in the United
States, comes in for Preston North End striker George
Koumantarakis while defender Neil Winstanley of Wits University
replaces Charlton Athletic's Mark Fish, who withdrew after
Mashaba told him he could not report late to the pre-tournament
training camp.


Goalkeepers: Andre Arendse (Mamelodi Sundowns), Emile Baron
(Lillestrom, Norway), Wayne Roberts (Wits University)

Defenders: Tony Coyle (FC Rostov, Russia), David Kannemeyer
(Kaizer Chiefs), Jacob Lekgetho (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia),
Mbulelo Mabizela (Tottenham Hotspur, England), Aaron Mokoena
(Racing Genk, Belgium), Thabang Molefe (Le Mans, France), Neil
Winstanley (Wits University)

Midfielders: Delron Buckley (VfL Bochum, Germany), Stanton
Fredericks (Kaizer Chiefs), Benson Mhlongo (Wits University),
Bennett Mnguni (FC Rostov, Russia), John Moshoeu (Kaizer
Chiefs), Jabu Pule (Kaizer Chiefs), MacBeth Sibaya (Rubin Kazan,
Russia), Tehobo Mokoena (Jomo Cosmos)

Forwards: Patrick Mayo (Kaizer Chiefs), Siyabonga Nomvete
(Udinese, Italy), Sibusiso Zuma (FC Copenhagen, Denmark),
Nkosinathi Nhleko (Dallas Burn, United States).