Looking ahead: AAC preview

Ryan Boatright will provide senior leadership and exceptional defense for the Huskies next season. Elsa/Getty Images

The American Athletic Conference will have a hard time topping what it did in 2013-14. In its first year in existence, the new league put three players on the AP All-American first team: Connecticut's Shabazz Napier, Louisville's Russ Smith and Cincinnati's Sean Kilpatrick. Then, for good measure, the American also produced a national champion in the form of coach Kevin Ollie's Connecticut Huskies.