How Heat can avoid pitfalls

Dwyane Wade, LeBron James and Chris Bosh hope to lead the Heat to a third consecutive NBA title. Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The Miami Heat enter the 2013-14 season looking for their straight NBA title, a feat that only five other teams in history have accomplished. In fact, three weeks ago I looked at how the Heat might end up ranking among those dynasties.

On the flip side, there have been six teams that tried and failed to achieve a three-peat:

• 1950-51 Minneapolis Lakers
• 1969-70 Boston Celtics
• 1988-89 Los Angeles Lakers
• 1990-91 Detroit Pistons
• 1995-96 Houston Rockets
• 2010-11 Los Angeles Lakers

What is the common thread that ties these failed three-peat attempts together? Roster inertia. As you'll see below, none of these teams made a significant offseason addition, which isn't that surprising when you consider that they were coming off of back-to-back championship seasons.