Players pick conference awards 

March, 8, 2011

This season, Insider is featuring the writing of six current NCAA basketball players who contribute their thoughts on issues facing their conferences. In this installment, our guys were tabbed for their picks for their conference's postseason honors. Much to their consternation, they were asked not to include themselves or their teams in the voting.

Big Ten (Draymond Green, Michigan State)

Player of the Year: JaJuan Johnson, Purdue He's been consistent all year long, a solid 20 and 8 guy every night. He really stepped into a big role, and his team needed him to for a full year without Robbie Hummell. I'd say him over Jared Sullinger because he does great with more around him than Johnson's got. You can't double down on Sullinger because he's got Jon Diebler, David Lighty and Will Buford out there shooting. That takes the pressure off. JaJuan Johnson doesn't have all that.

Coach of the Year: Matt Painter, Purdue
He's got them clicking right now, but they haven't had a letdown all season long. They got a win over Wisconsin and that one against Ohio State last month. What's really impressive is that he got his role players to step up, too. Ryne Smith, D.J. Byrd, even Lewis Jackson has stepped his game up more.

Conference tourney winner: Purdue

Dark horse: Either us or Minnesota Our chemistry is coming together more and we have each other's backs. A lot of guys are on the same page, even just thinking about making a pass, and I know that, say, Delvon Roe will be right there. We've learned each other's tendencies a lot better and the little things are coming together. If not us, probably Minnesota because I hear they might get Al Nolen back.

Predicted number of NCAA tournament bids for Big Ten: 5


Insider, Insider NCB, NCB, NCB, North Carolina Tar Heels, Duke Blue Devils, Florida State Seminoles, Clemson Tigers, Boston College Eagles, Virginia Tech Hokies, Maryland Terrapins, Virginia Cavaliers, Miami (FL) Hurricanes, North Carolina State Wolfpack, Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets, Wake Forest Demon Deacons, Kansas State Wildcats, Texas A&M Aggies, Texas Longhorns, Missouri Tigers, Colorado Buffaloes, Baylor Bears, Nebraska Cornhuskers, Oklahoma Sooners, Oklahoma State Cowboys, Texas Tech Red Raiders, Iowa State Cyclones, Pittsburgh Panthers, Notre Dame Fighting Irish, Louisville Cardinals, Syracuse Orange, St. John's Red Storm, West Virginia Mountaineers, Cincinnati Bearcats, Georgetown Hoyas, Connecticut Huskies, Villanova Wildcats, Marquette Golden Eagles, Seton Hall Pirates, Rutgers Scarlet Knights, Providence Friars, South Florida Bulls, DePaul Blue Demons, Ohio State Buckeyes, Purdue Boilermakers, Wisconsin Badgers, Michigan State Spartans, Michigan Wolverines, Illinois Fighting Illini, Penn State Nittany Lions, Northwestern Wildcats, Minnesota Golden Gophers, Iowa Hawkeyes, Indiana Hoosiers, Arizona State Sun Devils, Arizona Wildcats, UCLA Bruins, Washington Huskies, Washington State Cougars, USC Trojans, California Golden Bears, Stanford Cardinal, Oregon Ducks, Oregon State Beavers, Florida Gators, Kentucky Wildcats, Vanderbilt Commodores, Georgia Bulldogs, Tennessee Volunteers, South Carolina Gamecocks, Alabama Crimson Tide, Mississippi Rebels, Mississippi State Bulldogs, Arkansas Razorbacks, Auburn Tigers, LSU Tigers