Duke: Tops in modern era; not in past decade

If you think the NCAA Tournament is ruled by a handful of elite programs -- the Dukes, North Carolinas, Kentuckys and Connecticuts of the world -- think again.

Since the NCAA Tournament went to a 64-team bracket 21 dances ago, 15 different schools have won the championship. Consider that only six NBA teams have won the last 21 championships, just 11 teams have claimed the last 21 NHL crowns. There are 12 different champions for the past 21 Super Bowls. And 14 major league baseball clubs account for the last 21 World Series champs.

You want parity? How's this: Over the last decade, 25 unique schools have filled the 40 Final Four slots -- and only nine squads have made multiple trips to the semifinals.