Buckeyes, Sooners among teams with QB issues

A quick study of modern-day college football national champions shows the importance of the quarterback position:

2004: USC, Matt Leinart
2003: USC, Carson Palmer; LSU, Matt Mauck
2002: Ohio State, Craig Krenzel
2001: Miami (Fla.), Ken Dorsey
2000: Oklahoma, Josh Heupel
1999: Florida State, Chris Weinke
1998: Tennessee, Tee Martin
1997: Michigan, Brian Griese
1996: Florida, Danny Wuerffel
1995: Nebraska, Tommie Frazier

Championship caliber teams do not necessarily need dynamic playmaking quarterbacks (Krenzel and Heupel prove that theory). Sure, it helps to have a Leinart or a Wuerffel, but the common thread of this history lesson is that leadership and stability reign supreme at the quarterback position.