Final Conn Smythe rankings

If Jonathan Quick wins the Conn Smythe, you can't say he didn't go to great lengths to earn it. Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

The Conn Smythe Watch is our way of using an objective metric -- Hockey Prospectus' GVT -- to determine the most valuable player in the playoffs. And it seems to be a good method, considering GVT has correctly predicted the last two Conn Smythe winners, Jonathan Toews in 2010 and Tim Thomas in 2011.

Like last season, the winner seems fairly clear in 2012. And as the Los Angeles Kings stand on the cusp of becoming one of the best playoff teams in recent history, the biggest contributor to that success is clear.