Grand Final stars added to State of Origin squads

Five Melbourne players have been rewarded with selection in the Queensland State of Origin squad including debutants Tino Fa'asuamaleaui and Brenko Lee.

The Storm players got the good news after their 26-20 NRL grand final win over Penrith, while the Panthers had one player in back-rower Kurt Capewell named in the 27-man squad.

Capewell is also in line for his debut, taking the tally of uncapped Maroons in the Wayne Bennett's squad to 17.

The other three players from Melbourne are playmaker Cameron Munster, prop Christian Welch and second-rower Felise Kaufusi, who were all part of last year's campaign.

Queensland State of Origin Squad: Jai Arrow (Gold Coast), AJ Brimson (Gold Coast), Moeaki Fotuaika (Gold Coast), Phillip Sami (Gold Coast), Edrick Lee (Newcastle), Hymel Hunt (Newcastle), Valentine Holmes (North Queensland), Coen Hess (North Queensland), Xavier Coates (Brisbane), Patrick Carrigan (Brisbane), Ben Hunt (St George Illawarra), Josh Kerr (St George Illawarra), Harry Grant (Wests Tigers / Melbourne), Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly), Jake Friend (Sydney Roosters), Lindsay Collins (Sydney Roosters), Jaydn Su'A (South Sydney, Corey Allan (South Sydney), Dane Gagai (South Sydney), Dunamis Lui (Canberra), Kurt Capewell (Penrith), Tino Fa'asuamaleaui (Melbourne), Brenko Lee (Melbourne), Cameron Munster (Melbourne), Christian Welch (Melbourne), Felise Kaufusi (Melbourne)

Ryan Papenhuyzen has capped a Clive Churchill Medal-winning performance in the NRL grand final with selection in the NSW State of Origin squad.

The Storm fullback conjured a scintillating second half try in Melbourne's 26-20 win over Penrith, running a game-high 187 metres.

NSW coach and Nine Network commentator Brad Fittler couldn't help but give away that the 22-year-old Papenhuyzen was part of his squad for Origin I on November 4.

The Panthers were also rewarded for their stellar season with four players named after the grand final in the Blues' 27-man squad, with five-eighth Jarome Luai a surprise call-up.

While born in Sydney, Luai captained the Junior Kiwis in 2017 against the Junior Kangaroos.

The seven added post-match were debutant Papenhuyzen and Storm teammates, winger Josh Addo-Carr and lock Dale Finucane.

As well as Luai, halfback Nathan Cleary, young centre Stephen Crichton and lock Isaah Yeo were named.

Played at the end of the season for the first time, the three-match series will be played over subsequent weeks in the Adelaide, Sydney and Brisbane.

NSW State of Origin Squad: Josh Addo-Carr (Melbourne), Nathan Brown (Parramatta), Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Parramatta), Nathan Cleary (Penrith), Damien Cook (South Sydney), Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters), Nick Cotric (Canberra), Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters), Stephen Crichton (Penrith), Dale Finucane (Melbourne), Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra), Clint Gutherson (Parramatta), Payne Haas (Brisbane), Luke Keary (Sydney Roosters), Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra), Jarome Luai (Penrith), Cameron McInnes (St George Illawarra), Cameron Murray (South Sydney), Ryan Papenhuyzen (Melbourne), Junior Paulo (Parramatta), Daniel Saifiti (Newcastle, James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters), Jake Trbojevic (Manly), Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters), Cody Walker (South Sydney), Jack Wighton (Canberra), Isaah Yeo (Penrith)