Katarina Johnson-Thompson nominated for IAAF World Athlete of the Year

Great Britain's Katarina Johnson-Thompson has received a nomination for the IAAF World Athlete of the Year award.

Johnson-Thompson, 27, is one of the nominees for the female athlete of the year, the athletics' governing body announced on Tuesday.

She recorded a British record to win gold in the heptathlon at this year's World Championships in Doha and claim her first global outdoor title.

Johnson-Thompson also came away with a gold medal at the European indoor pentathlon in March.

Kenya's marathon world record holder Brigid Kosgei was also nominated for the award.

Kosgei finished the Chicago Marathon in two hours, 14 minutes and four seconds on Sunday to shatter Paula Radcliffe's 16-year-old world record of 2:15:25.

American Dalilah Muhammad, who earlier this month broke her own world record to win the women's 400 metres hurdles title at the World Championships with a time of 52.16 seconds, was also nominated for the global honour.

Muhammad, 29, the 2016 Olympic champion, crossed the finish line 0.04 seconds faster than her previous world record which was set in July.

World champions Beatrice Chepkoech (3000m steeplechase), Hellen Obiri (5,000m) and Jamaica's Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (100m and 4x100m) were also included.

Sifan Hassan, Mariya Lasitskene, Malaika Mihambo, Salwa Eid Naser and Yulimar Rojas completed the list.

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists, with fans eligible to vote online on the IAAF's social media platforms up to Nov. 5.

The winners will be announced at the World Athletics Awards in Monaco on Nov. 23.

World Athlete of the Year nominees (male)

Donavan Brazier, Christian Coleman, Joshua Cheptegei, Timothy Cheruiyot, Steven Gardiner, Sam Kendricks, Eliud Kipchoge, Noah Lyles, Daniel Stahl, Christian Taylor, Karsten Warholm.

World Athlete of the Year nominees (female)

Beatrice Chepkoech, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Sifan Hassan, Brigid Kosgei, Mariya Lasitskene, Malaika Mihambo, Dalilah Muhammad, Salwa Eid Naser, Hellen Obiri, Yulimar Rojas.

Information from Reuters contributed to this article.