McConnochie in England World Cup squad

Ruaridh McConnochie was pencilled in to make his debut in England's 33-19 win over Wales on Sunday, but pulled out with a hip injury. David Rogers/Getty Images

England have named uncapped back Ruaridh McConnochie in their 31-man 2019 Rugby World Cup squad while Lewis Ludlam, Willi Heinz and Jack Singleton are also included having made their Test debuts on Sunday.

There is no place for the experienced Ben Te'o or Mike Brown -- both believed to have been involved in an altercation on a team bonding session in Treviso -- while Charlie Ewels, Harry Williams and Joe Marchant also miss out despite featuring against Wales on Sunday. Piers Francis is included but there is no place for Brad Shields.

Jones has gambled on two tight-head props and two scrum-halves in his squad as he opts for a split between 17 forwards and 14 backs.

McConnochie was pencilled in to make his debut against Wales on Sunday, but pulled out with a hip injury. His inclusion caps a remarkable rise having just played one season of XVs rugby, following a successful Sevens career.

Ludlam, Heinz and Singleton have a collective 118 minutes of Test experience between them, with all three winning their first caps against Wales in England's 33-19 win on Sunday. Heinz is named as one of two No.9s alongside Ben Youngs, while Ludlam offers another option in the back-row with both Sam Underhill and Tom Curry included with both carrying knocks.

"Today is another step in the progress towards the Rugby World Cup," Jones said. "We have taken the decision to go early because of what we learned from previous campaigns. We want the squad to know early and now we can get on and be the best prepared England side there has ever been, ready to win the World Cup.

"A lot of good players have missed out, we feel for them, I feel for them personally. But as we know the World Cup is an incredible tournament where opportunities can present themselves and all those players who have missed out have been told they have to be ready."

The RFU tweeted a video to accompany the squad announcement, detailing the backgrounds of the players that will be competing in Japan.

Leicester Tigers forward Dan Cole and scrum-half Youngs are the most experienced players included in the selection -- the pair boast 86 international caps each and both represented England in their disappointing home Rugby World Cup campaign in 2015.

Meanwhile, Exeter Chiefs wing Jack Nowell has been included as he continues to recover from an ankle injury sustained during June's Premiership Final at Twickenham -- he is targeting England's final warn-up game against Italy for his return to action.

England became the first hosts to exit the tournament in the pool stage in 2015 under former head coach Stuart Lancaster.

The deadline for naming the final 31-man squad for the tournament is Sept. 2, but Jones has decided to announce his selection early to avoid prolonged speculation.

England play three more warm-up matches -- away to Wales and at home against Ireland and Italy -- before their Rugby World Cup opener in Japan against Pool C opponents Tonga on Sept. 22.

England then travel to Kobe to face the United States on Sept. 26, before games against Argentina on Oct. 5, and France on Oct. 12.

England 2019 World Cup Squad


Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Jack Singleton (Saracens), Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons / Sale Sharks)


Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby), Elliot Daly (Saracens), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Piers Francis (Northampton Saints), Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)