Australian Super Rugby squads 2021

After a topsy-turvy 2020 season, which saw the abandonment of regular Super Rugby fixtures and the development of the inaugural Super Rugby AU competition, the 2021 season is just under a month away and preparations have begun.

Following the success of Super Rugby AU, the competition will be revisited again in 2021 with all five Australia Super Rugby sides to face off in a 10 round season with a Final. We will also see the introduction of a new trans-Tasman Super Rugby competition that will see all five New Zealand sides take on all five Australian Super Rugby sides in a competition to be played out following Super Rugby Aotearoa and Super Rugby AU.

All five Australia Super squads are trickling in, check out the lists below.


The Brumbies are determined to go back-to-back, retaining 28 players from their 2020 championship winning team, while signing up eight new young players to fill voids across the squad.

With the loss of experience throughout the side the Brumbies have been bolstered by the signing of 26-year-old James Tucker, a former Junior All Black and member of the Blues 2020 squad. Outside back Reece Tapine and tighthead prop Archer Holz are the other Brumbies new recruits for 2021, alongside five academy products who have been promoted to the club's Super Rugby squad.

Hookers: Folau Fainga'a, Lachlan Lonergan, Connal McInerney, Billy Pollard

Props: Allan Alaalatoa, Archer Holz, Harry Lloyd, Tom Ross, Scott Sio, James Slipper

Locks: Tom Hooper, Nick Frost, Caderyn Neville, Darcy Swain, James Tucker

Backrows: Jahrome Brown, Tom Cusack, Luke Reimer, Pete Samu, Rory Scott, Rob Valetini

Scrumhalf: Lachie Albert, Issak Fines, Ryan Lonergan, Nic White

Flyhalf: Bayley Kuenzle, Noah Lolesio, Reesjan Pasitoa

Midfield/Outside backs: Tom Banks, Mack Hansen, Len Ikitau, Solomone Kata, Andy Muirhead, Irae Simone, Reece Tapine, Tom Wright

Departures: Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, Blake Enever, Murray Douglas, Lachlan McCaffrey, Will Miller, Joe Powell, Tevita Kuridrani, Guy Porter, Toni Pulu

Melbourne Rebels

Hookers: Ed Craig, Jordan Uelese, Rhys Van Nekm

Props: Cabous Eloff, Cameron Orr, Matt Gibbon, Pone Fa'amausili,

Locks: Steve Cummins, Trevor Hosea,

Backrow: Brad Wilkin, Isi Naisarani, Jeral Skelton, Josh Kemeny, Michael Wells, Richard Hardwick, Robert Leota, Ross Haylett-Petty,

Halfback: Frank Lomani, James Tuttle, Joe Powell, Theo Strang

Flyhalf: Carter Gordon, Matt To'omua,

Midfield backs: Campbell Magnay, Lewis Holland, Reece Hodge, Young Tonumaipea

Outside backs: Dane Haylett-Petty, Illy Vudogo, Lachie Anderson, Marika Koroibete, Tom Pincus


Queensland Reds

Hookers: Alex Mafi, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Sean Farrell

Props: Dane Zander, Dave Feao, Feao Fotuaika, Harry Hoopert, Josh Nasser, JP Smith, Taniela Tupou, Zane Nonggorr

Locks: Angus Blyth, Luckhan Salakaia-Loto, Michael Wood

Backrow: Angus Scott-Young, Fraser McReight, Harry Wilson, Liam Wright, Seru Uru, Tom Kibble, Tuaina Taii Tualima

Halfback: Moses Sorovi, Scott Malolua, Tate McDermott, Kalani Thomas

Flyhalf: Carter Gordon, James O'Connor, Bryce Hegarty

Midfield backs: Hamish Stewart, Hunter Paisami, Jack Hardy, Josh Flook

Outside backs: Chris Feauai-Sautia, Filipo Daugunu, Henry Speight, Jock Campbell, Jordan Petaia, Mac Grealy, Ilaisa Droasese


It's a new look Waratahs squad for 2021 with much of the old guard moving on and making way for fresh, young local New South Wales talent to move into the side and take their chances on the Super Rugby stage.

Former Waratahs captain Michael Hooper has taken on a year long contract in Japan that will see him miss the Super Rugby season, while one of the side's most experienced players Rob Simmons has moved to the UK to play for London Irish. Overall, twelve players moved on from the Waratahs leaving plenty of gaps for Rob Penney to fill.

A mostly untouched backrow, halves and front row should give fans some hope heading into the season, while the signing of Sam Wykes gives the lock stockpiles plenty of experience. But there'll be plenty of pressure on the new young players making their way through the ranks.

Hookers: Robbie Abel, Joe Cotton, Tom Horton, David Porecki.

Props: Tetera Faulkner, Angus Bell, Chris Talakai, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Alefosio Tatola, Tiaan Tauakipulu.

Locks: Sam Wykes, Max Douglas, Jeremy Williams, Jack Whetton, Sam Caird.

Backrow: Will Harris, Carlo Tizzano, Charlie Gamble, Hugh Sinclair, Jack Dempsey, Lachlan Swinton.

Halfback: Jake Gordon, Henry Robertson, Jack Grant.

Flyhalf: Tane Edmed, Ben Donaldson, Will Harrison.

Midfield backs: Tepai Moeroa, Izaia Perse, Lalakai Foketi, Joey Walton.

Outside backs: Alex Newsome, Jack Maddocks, James Ramm, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Tristan Reilly.

Departures: Rob Simmons, Ned Hanigan, Tom Robertson, Tom Staniforth, Karmichael Hunt, Cam Clark, Ryan McCauley, Michael McDonald, Jed Holloway, Pat Tafa, Andrew Tuala, Mitch Short, Michael Hooper (signed on one year sabbatical to Japan)

Western Force

Hookers: Feleti Kaitu'u, Andrew Ready,

Props: Victor Harris, Greg Holmes, Chris Heiberg, Kieran Longbottom, Santiago Medrano, Tom Robertson, Angus Wagner

Locks: Fergus Lee-Warner, Ryan McCauley, Jackson Pugh, Jeremy Thrush

Backrow: Tim Anstee, Ollie Callan, Kane Koteka, Tomas Lezana, Brynard Stander,

Halfback: Tomas Cubelli, Michael McDonald, Ian Prior

Flyhalf: Kyle Godwin, Jono Lance, Jack McIntyre, Domingo Miotti,

Midfield backs: Richard Kahui, Tevita Kuridrani, Grason Makara, Henry Taefu,

Outside backs: Marcel Brache, Rob Kearney, Brad Lacey, Jack McGregor, Bryon Ralston, Jake Strachan