Daniel Arzani selected in Australia squad for Tokyo Olympics

Socceroos winger Daniel Arzani will aim to put a forgettable 18 months in Europe behind him after being selected in the Olyroos squad to represent Australia at the Tokyo Games.

The 22-year-old, a bolter for Australia's 2018 World Cup squad, has struggled for game time since rupturing an ACL on debut for Scottish giants Celtic in late 2019.

After his loan spell at Parkhead ended last year, Arzani had further loan spells at Dutch team FC Utrecht and Danish Superliga club AGF Aarhus but has clocked up just 178 minutes of senior football since his injury.

- Stream ESPN FC Daily on ESPN+ (U.S. only)
- Video specials: 'Perfect' Socceroos | Matildas malaise | Road to '22

Despite that lack of game time, Olyroos coach Graham Arnold has named the attacking ace in his squad for what will be Australia's first men's football tournament appearance at the Games since 2008.

Arnold has also only picked two of his possible three over-age selections with Socceroos pair Mitchell Duke and Ruon Tongyik named to join the under-23s team.

Tongyik, 24, debuted for the Socceroos in their recent World Cup qualifiers in Kuwait and the South Sudan-born defender said his selection capped a special time in his life.

"Our community is going to be very, very happy for me," Tongyik said. "Seeing someone like myself, the history, all the trials and tribulations that I have been through as a player and as a person as well.

"People that I know and I do look up to, players, friends and family, they are going to be very stoked for me and I am very happy to be able to represent them as well."

The squad also contains three players who played in Sunday's A-League Grand Final including Joe Marston Medallist Nathaniel Atkinson.

Along with Tongyik and Duke, the squad contains current Socceroos Harry Souttar, Denis Genreau and Connor Metcalfe.

The Olyroos have been drawn in Group C with Egypt, Spain and Argentina and begin their campaign against the Argentineans on July 22.


Goalkeepers: Thomas Glover, Ashley Maynard-Brewer
Defenders: Thomas Deng, Joel King, Dylan Pierias, Kye Rowles, Harry Souttar, Ruon Tongyik
Midfielders: Nathaniel Atkinson, Keanu Baccus, Denis Genreau, Riley McGree, Connor Metcalfe, Caleb Watts
Forwards: Daniel Arzani, Nicholas D'Agostino, Mitchell Duke, Reno Piscopo