European Championships qualifying draw: Germany, Netherlands in Group C, easier draws for England, Spain

Netherlands and Germany were grouped together in qualification for the 2020 European Championship at Sunday's draw in Dublin.

Germany, who dropped into pot two for the draw after their dismal UEFA Nations League campaign, will also play Northern Ireland, Estonia and Belarus in Group C when qualification begins in March.

Holders Portugal will face Ukraine and Serbia in a tricky five-team Group B, while world champions France drew Iceland and Turkey in Group H.

Three-times champions Spain were drawn in Group F with Sweden, Norway and Romania, while England will face the Czech Republic and Bulgaria in Group A.

The top two teams from each group qualify automatically. Unlike previous tournaments, the playoffs to decide the four other spots will be contested between the most successful teams from the four divisions of the Nations League who have not already qualified.

The new format offers a potential back door for any top side that struggles in qualifying, while also handing the leading minnows from the lowest division -- Kosovo, Georgia, Belarus and Macedonia -- a chance to claim the last qualification place.

The finals will take place in 12 different cities. For the first time in the competition's history, the tournament will be hosted by more than two countries to mark its 60th anniversary.

No team will qualify automatically as hosts, although every host country that qualifies will be guaranteed two home games in the group phase, with the final being held at Wembley Stadium.