Wooden Award list features 3 from Notre Dame, UConn

Three players from Notre Dame and three from UConn are part of the midseason top 25 for the John Wooden Award in women's basketball that was released Wednesday.

Arike Ogunbowale, Jessica Shepard and Jackie Young made the list from the Irish, while the Huskies are represented by Napheesa Collier, Katie Lou Samuelson and Crystal Dangerfield.

The Pac-12, though, leads all conferences with six players among the top 25, including Oregon teammates Sabrina Ionescu and Ruthy Hebard. The SEC and ACC each have five players on the list, and the Big Ten and Big 12 have three each.

One freshman, Kentucky's Rhyne Howard, and three sophomores -- Tennessee's Rennia Davis, Arizona's Aari McDonald and Oregon State's Destiny Slocum -- made the top 25 as well.

The top 25 will be pared down to 20 later in the season before a list of 15 finalists is revealed ahead of the NCAA tournament. The Wooden Award winner will be announced at the College Basketball Awards on April 12.

South Carolina's A'ja Wilson was last season's winner.