ESPN 2017 All-Big 12 team: Player of the Year Baker Mayfield leads the way

The best of Baker Mayfield's Heisman-winning season (1:10)

Relive the best moments from Baker Mayfield's 2017 season at Oklahoma. (1:10)

Here's our ESPN 2017 All-Big 12 team:


Oklahoma QB Baker Mayfield: Won the Heisman Trophy while leading OU to the College Football Playoff and a third consecutive Big 12 title.


West Virginia QB Will Grier: Passed for 3,490 yards and 34 TDs before a broken finger prematurely ended his season.


Iowa State's Matt Campbell: Before this season, Iowa State had beaten only one top-five team in its history. In October alone, Campbell’s Cyclones defeated two on their way to qualifying for a bowl.


QB Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma: Became the first Heisman Trophy winner to begin his career as a walk-on.

RB Justice Hill, Oklahoma State: Topped the Big 12 with 1,347 yards and 14 TDs on the ground.

RB David Montgomery, Iowa State: The nation’s leader in broken tackles is one of three Big 12 players with more than 1,000 yards rushing.

FB Dimitri Flowers, Oklahoma: Scored eight total TDs (four rushing, four receiving) as OU’s Swiss Army knife.

TE Mark Andrews, Oklahoma: Won the Mackey Award as the nation’s top tight end and was also an ESPN All-American.

WR James Washington, Oklahoma State: Won the Biletnikoff Award as the nation’s top wide receiver and was also an ESPN All-American.

WR David Sills V, West Virginia: A Biletnikoff finalist who led the nation with 18 TD catches.

WR Allen Lazard, Iowa State: Iowa State’s all-time leading receiver caught the game-winning TD that knocked off Oklahoma.

OT Orlando Brown, Oklahoma: A finalist for the Outland Award and was also an ESPN All-American.

OG Matt Pryor, TCU: Stepped up when Patrick Morris missed much of the season with an injury.

C Brad Lundblade, Oklahoma State: The anchor up front for the nation’s No. 3 offense.

OG Ben Powers, Oklahoma: Was an ESPN All-Big 12 selection last season, too.

OT Bobby Evans, Oklahoma: Overshadowed by Orlando Brown, but a dominating force at OU’s other bookend.

All-purpose Keke Coutee, Texas Tech: Trailed only Justice Hill in all-purpose yards in the Big 12.


DE Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, Oklahoma: Third in the Big 12 with eight sacks and second with 17.5 tackles for loss.

DT Poona Ford, Texas: The biggest reason Texas held opponents to fewer than 100 yards rushing seven times.

DT Will Geary, Kansas State: Iowa State’s Ray Lima also warranted consideration, but Geary thrived while taking on double-teams on a regular basis.

DE Ben Banogu, TCU: Got the slight nod over teammate Mat Boesen, who was also terrific. The two have combined for 20 sacks.

LB Malik Jefferson, Texas: Bounced back in a big way from a disappointing sophomore season to tie for second in the Big 12 with 110 tackles.

LB Travin Howard, TCU: Will go into the bowl game boasting 333 tackles over the past three seasons.

LB David Long Jr., West Virginia: Came back from a preseason knee injury to finish eighth in the Big 12 with 69 tackles in conference play.

CB Ranthony Texada, TCU: Trailed only DeShon Elliott in the league in “disrupted dropbacks” (sacks/interceptions/batted passes/passes defended).

S Nick Orr, TCU: The backbone of the TCU secondary, he had the game-clinching pick in the win at Oklahoma State.

S DeShon Elliott, Texas: A Thorpe finalist and an ESPN All-American, he led the Big 12 with six interceptions.

CB Brian Peavy, Iowa State: Despite playing cornerback, finished third on Iowa State with 81 tackles and had a 70-yard interception return in a win over TCU.

All-purpose Joel Lanning, Iowa State: Third in the Big 12 with 110 tackles while playing situational quarterback through much of the season.


K Matthew McCrane, Kansas State: Nailed 21 of 26 field goal attempts, including three from 50 yards or more.

P Michael Dickson, Texas: Won the Ray Guy Award as the nation’s top punter.

Returner D.J. Reed, Kansas State: Also a standout corner, leads the nation in both kick and punt return average.