Pollard, Narine, Russell, Pooran among TKR's retentions for CPL 2023

Kieron Pollard waits at the non-striker's end CPL T20/Getty Images

Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, captain Kieron Pollard and Nicholas Pooran have been retained by Trinbago Knight Riders for CPL 2023. Akeal Hosein and Jayden Seales are also among those retained.

They will also have Mark Deyal as part of their set-up with the batter joining from the St Lucia Kings. Last month, TKR announced that Dwayne Bravo will be returning to the franchise ahead of CPL 2023.

"We are very happy to be able to retain most of the Caribbean players from last year's TKR squad," head coach Phil Simmons said. "The experience of Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, and Nicholas Pooran coupled with Dwayne Bravo's return gives our squad a very strong core. In youngsters like Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, and Mark Deyal, we have some of the best young talent from Trinidad representing TKR."

Knight Riders had the likes of Tim Seifert, Ali Khan and Colin Munro among their overseas signings in 2022. Whether they will continue to be part of the set-up will be known during the overseas signings and draft picks that will be announced in late June.

"We're looking forward to the remaining international signings," Simmons said. "I am excited by the player draft coming up soon to complete the roster and put together a strong squad for CPL 2023."

Knight Riders finished at the bottom of the table in CPL 2022. They will start their CPL 2023 campaign on August 19 against St Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

Pierre joins St Lucia Kings

Allrounder Khary Pierre has joined St Lucia Kings from Trinbago Knight Riders for CPL 2023. Johnson Charles, Alzarri Joseph, Roston Chase are among the players who have been retained Kings ahead of the tournament.

Roshon Primus, Jeavor Royals, Matthew Forde and McKenny Clarke are also among the retainees.