NEC a wide-open field again

The Northeast Conference (NEC) has been dominated recently by three programs: Robert Morris, LIU Brooklyn and last season's champion, Mount St. Mary's. These three have accounted for the past seven NEC championships, and 12 of the past 14 tournament final appearances.

However, all three experienced significant roster turnover this offseason, leaving in their wake a wide-open conference. Case in point: Three teams expected to contend -- St. Francis (NY), Bryant and Saint Francis University -- have a combined one NCAA tournament berth in their respective histories.