Six Panthers, Suaali'i in Samoa's World Cup squad

Penrith's Izack Togo [L] and Brian To'o will both link up with Samoa for the Rugby League World Cup Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images

Samoa have named the strongest squad in their history for the Rugby League World Cup with six topline Penrith players in the 24-man squad.

Samoa have not progressed beyond the quarter-finals at any World Cup but coach Matt Parish has a squad that looks capable of challenging the top-tier teams in England.

The Panthers contingent includes five players - Stephen Crichton, Brian To'o, Jarome Luai, Spencer Leniu and Izack Tago - who will play in Sunday's NRL grand final against Parramatta. The other, Taylan May, is injured.

The Samoan pack is a formidable one with Queensland prop Josh Papali'i, Manly duo Josh Aloiai and Martin Taupau, Braden Hamlin-Uele (Cronulla) and NSW wrecking ball Junior Paulo a middle forward rotation boasting plenty of power and skill.

Five of the six Panthers players are backs so the team will have plenty of continuity with its moves.

Sydney Roosters teenager Joseph Suaali'i is expected to be in the starting side as is Dolphins-bound playmaker Anthony Milford.

Wests Tigers winger David Nofoaluma was a surprise omission after his stunning form in the 42-12 win over the Cook Islands in June's Pacific Test where he scored four tries. Nofoaluma also impressed when he was on loan to Melbourne and played finals football for the Storm.

Parish has a powerful and versatile back-row with North Queensland attacking weapon Luciano Leilua complementing the defensive clout and fear factor provided by St George Illawarra hardman Jaydn Su'A.

Samoa kick off their World Cup campaign at St James' Park, Newcastle against England on Sunday, October 15. They are drawn in Pool A with France and Greece and will be favourites with England to go through to the knock-out stage.

SAMOA SQUAD: Josh Aloiai, Fa'amanu Brown, Stephen Crichton, Mathew Feagai, Braden Hamlin-Uele, Chanel Harris-Tavita, Royce Hunt, Oregon Kaufusi, Luciano Leilua, Spencer Leniu, Danny Levi, Jarome Luai, Taylan May, Tyrone May, Anthony Milford, Josh Papali'i, Junior Paulo, Jaydn Su'A, Joseph Suaali'i, Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow, Izack Tago, Martin Taupau, Brian To'o, Kelma Tuilagi. Coach - Matt Parish.