Johan Cruyff Shield
  • Davy Propper (38')

Propper's goal clinches Johan Cruyff Shield for PSV Eindhoven

A 38th-minute goal from Davy Propper was enough for PSV Eindhoven to beat Feyenoord to win the Johan Cruyff Shield, the annual curtain raiser to the Dutch season.

The decisive strike strike came following a PSV throw-in, with Propper reacting quickest to drive a low shot beyond Feyenoord goalkeeper Par Hansson, via a slight deflection off defender Terence Kongolo.

Earlier, PSV's Andres Guardado hit the bar with a free kick and Luuk de Jong fired a penalty over after Jorrit Hendrix had been fouled by Karim El Ahmadi.

Feyenoord's best chance of the game fell to Eric Botteghin, whose header from a corner was cleared off the line.

PSV have won the trophy 11 times, including three times in the past five years.