Champions League draw: Manchester United to face Juventus and Cristiano Ronaldo

Juventus will face Manchester United in the Champions League group stage this season, giving Cristiano Ronaldo a chance to play against his former team.

Ronaldo, who joined Juve from Real Madrid earlier this summer, has only faced United in three games since leaving Old Trafford in 2009 -- a two-legged round-of-16 Champions League tie in 2013, and the 2017 UEFA Super Cup.

Ronaldo scored in each leg of the 2013 clash as Real Madrid advanced 3-2 on aggregate. Last summer, he came on as a late substitute as Real beat United 2-1 in Macedonia.

There will also be a return to Spain for Ronaldo as Group H is filled out with La Liga club Valencia, as well as Swiss champions Young Boys.

The United-Juventus matchup will also give Paul Pogba a first chance to face off against the Bianconeri after playing in Turin from 2012-16 -- and often being linked with a move back to Juventus.

The teams will not meet until matchday three, when Juve visit Old Trafford on Oct. 23, before the return trip to Turin on the following matchday on Nov. 7.

Liverpool received one of the more difficult draws as UEFA conducted the draw on Thursday in Monaco. Jurgen Klopp's side, the top-ranked team in Pot 3 based on UEFA's coefficients, will face Paris Saint-Germain and Napoli as well as a trip to 1991 European Cup champions Red Star Belgrade.

"For sure, when you have already a group with Paris Saint-Germain and Napoli -- two absolutely top teams -- then you don't want to have Liverpool as the third team," Klopp said. "'It is how it is' is the best way to describe it; don't think too much about it. If you think about the group, you are already out. If you think it is too difficult, you are already out."

Barcelona will not face an easy path into the group stage either, as they were drawn with Tottenham, Dutch champions PSV Eindhoven and Inter Milan.

The group stage begins on Sept. 18, with two clubs from each group advancing to the knockout stage. Atletico Madrid's Metropolitano stadium will host the final on June 1.

Group A: Atletico Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, Monaco, Club Brugge

Group B: Barcelona, Tottenham Hotspur, PSV Eindhoven, Inter Milan

Group C: Paris Saint-Germain, Napoli, Liverpool, Red Star Belgrade

Group D: Lokomotiv Moscow, Porto, Schalke, Galatasaray

Group E: Bayern Munich, Benfica, Ajax, AEK Athens

Group F: Manchester City, Shakhtar Donetsk, Lyon, Hoffenheim

Group G: Real Madrid, Roma, CSKA Moscow, Viktoria Plzen

Group H: Juventus, Manchester United, Valencia, Young Boys